Bookish Hangover

 

As I’ve mentioned before, I love reading and I can finish a 327 page book in less than three hours.  There are always a few books that leave that special mark in your mind and heart, and these five babies are my top book hangovers. I remember going on a reading frenzy just to finish them.

Let me share with you the back story of when I read them.

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

O-M-G! I had read Gone Girl and found myself saying Amy was a freaking goddess (even though what she did was messed up) but Camille had me on edge since the beginning. We all have some twisted past (in some way) and hers had me freaking out. I needed to know why she was doing that (can’t give spoilers) and the way her past just has these black holes made me want to dig deeper into the story. I spent two hours reading this novel non-stop, as in I read while I was reading, I read while watching tv, I read until I got to the last page and couldn’t even gasp for air. Mom had walked in right when I finished and the first thing I told her was that she needed to read it ASAP. ‘Til this day I remember each and every detail of the book with perfection.

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

I love Will and James. Tessa is ok and she made them boys seem so dreamy when she expressed the way they made her feel, but lets admit it, they are PERFECT! At first I wanted to know what the heck was going on with Tessa, then I wanted to know more and more about Will and in the end I couldn’t stop thinking about James. My crush for this first novel in the series is James. So sweet, gentle and smart. I didn’t jump quickly on starting to read the sequel, Clockwork Princess,  because I had to just take my time and think about Clockwork Angel. Them boys though! xD

Asylum by Madeleine Roux

One of my top favorites! and let me not forget to mention that the images within the book made me love it even more! I enjoyed this thrilling novel so much that I remember getting the book as a gift, parking my car in front of my house and had to dig into it quickly. I finished it shocked, speechless, mind-blown, freaked out and completely obsessed with it. My weakness truly are the mystery/suspense/thrillers, they make me feel so on edge and alert and I love it!

The Haunting of Sunshine Girl by Paige McKenzie

Another one of my fav  paranormal thriller books. Sunshine is so odd and the author projected her intense feeling about what was going on in a way that even made me believe there were some paranormal things going on in my house for a week. I don’t believe in ghosts and creepy things, but this novel made me doubt my thoughts in a way I could’ve never imagined. Yeah, now I can sleep better and not hear footsteps on the floor above.

Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige

I remember reading so many bad reviews for this book that I can even believe they were talking about the same book. I loved it! As I’ve stated before, anything creepy and twisted is right up my alley, and Danielle Paige did a wonderful job with twisting a classic into something so perfect. I wasn’t a fan of Oz and now I am thanks to this book. So forget about hearing me talk about the classic story of the Wizard of Oz, I’ll be always mentioning how Dorothy Must Die ASAP and I wish they would turn it into a movie! It would be so awesome to see how they would adapt it and make it as dark and mysterious as the book.

 

So there you have it! My top Bookish Hangovers. The one’s that made me lose sleep just so I could enjoy each and every single word.

Leave a Reply

