Bookish Mix

I don’t know about you, but I deal with a few bookish issues that drive me cray cray.

Each time I go to a bookstore, I enjoy walking through every isle while looking at each and every shelf with passion and serenity. I can find a book today and love the cover, but that’s until I return another day to find another book in the series or the sequel in another cover format.  Yup, that’s my haunting issue. Buying a hardcover book today just to find that the sequel is paperback the next time I go to the bookstore.

Thanks to this wonderful yet haunting dilema, I decided to create a tag called Bookish Mix. I began using this tag on Instagram, but I think we can continue expanding it through our blogs. The idea of the tag, Bookish Mix, is to show the world the beauty and mystery within mixed series. You just upload a photo of your mixed series, explain your thoughts on it and show others that in their own odd way they are beautiful.

So, I’ll begin by showing you one of my most dreadful yet wonderful bookish mix (I have many but I decided to show you my favorite books that don’t match).

  

 These babies are Asylum and its sequel, Sanctum, written by Madeleine Roux.

The story behind this bookish mix is kinda funny. My mother decided to get me a gift just because she felt like it. She was in Walmart walking around and noticed in the book section that there was this weird creepy looking cover that fit right into my odd book tastes. She purchased the book and gave it to me super excited, and when I saw it I noticed it said in the bottom that it was a sequel. Yes, A SEQUEL! So when she saw that she went into this panic mode since she knew it would be hard to find the first book in one of the bookstores here unless we ordered it online. I got to calm her down and waited calmly until we could find it. Then I met this cute guy (which I dated for a while) and he knew of my lil’ hunt, so he thought it would be a great idea to get it for me and guess what, he ordered it online and gave it to me. Now here is were it gets messy for my OCD, the sequel was in paperback and he got me the first book as a hardcover. I laughed so much when I saw it that he looked at me as if I was crazy. I explained to him why I was laughing and he joined in to laugh. He understood the bit of frustration I had since he also disliked mixed books within the series.

At first I felt confused by the mix, but now I love it. It gives it the perfect mysterious touch. The story itself is kinda creepy and seeing how they don’t match fits perfectly with the theme.

Share with others your mix by using the tag bookish mix. I’d love to see all the beautiful mixed books. 😊

Leave a Reply

